Healthy North Coast

Our Board

Dr Tony Lembke (Chair)

Tony Lembke

Dr Tony Lembke has 20 years’ experience in primary care as a General Practitioner. He has been working as a General Practitioner in Alstonville, and a Visiting Medical Officer at Lismore Base Hospital and St. Vincent’s Hospital Lismore since 1993.

Tony has been involved in the development of new primary care services at the practice, regional, state and national levels through his work as a General Practitioner. He also has extensive experience at the Division of General Practice level, and is an active participant in state and national initiatives. Tony had significant involvement in developing the primary care policy that resulted in the formation of Medicare Locals and served as Chair on the North Coast NSW Medicare Local Transitional Board.

Dr Tim Francis

Dr Tim Francis

Dr Tim Francis is a General Practitioner, Anesthetist and Medical Educator. He completed his advanced rural skills posts in emergency and anaesthetics at Coffs Harbour and Tweed Heads hospitals and continues to practice on the North Coast.

Tim serves as a Director on the North Coast NSW GP Training Board and also the Board of RACGP National Rural Faculty, and has previously served as a director on GP Registrars Australia. He has been involved in policy development and reform during his time at General Practice Registrars Australia, which has carried through to his current role with National Rural Faculty. Tim is also a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Malcolm Marshall

Malcolm Marshall

Malcolm Marshall is a Certified Practicing Accountant with over 30 years of experience in finance/administration with the past 24 years at an executive administration level at Southern Cross University (SCU) and its predecessor institutions. His executive roles at SCU included responsibility for human resources, finance, legal matters, policy development, strategic planning and workforce training.

Malcolm demonstrates his commitment to developing responsive services, improving the patient’s journey and promoting quality in primary health care through his participation and contribution of current and past health boards and committees over the past 16 years. This has included service as a Director on the Northern Rivers Area Health Service, Northern NSW Health District Board and the North Coast Breast Screening Program.

Mr Scott Monaghan

Scott Monaghan

Scott Monaghan has over 16 years of experience with Bulgarr Ngaru Medical Aboriginal Corporation in Grafton and has been Chief Executive Officer for the past seven years. Bulgarr Ngaru is a founding member of the Many Rivers Aboriginal Medical Service Alliance. It is within this context that Scott has built strong communication, community consultation and negotiating skills within Aboriginal communities in the Local Health District boundaries.

Scott was a member of the Transitional Board for North Coast NSW Medicare Local and has nine years experience as a Board member of a community controlled organisation.

Dr Joanna Sutherland

Jo Sutherland

Jo Sutherland is a specialist anaesthetist in Coffs Harbour, with a Masters of Health Policy, and a research Masters of Clinical Science. She is actively involved in teaching and training medical students (as a Conjoint academic with UNSW Rural Clinical School), and also training and supporting specialist and GP anaesthetists. Jo works with the Agency for Clinical Innovation, and committed to enhancing the integration of health systems and services. She is a member of the Mid North Coast Local Health District Governing Board.

Warren Grimshaw AM

Warren Grimshaw AM

Mr Grimshaw has extensive senior experience in public administration. He was Executive Director/CEO of the NSW Ministry of Education and Youth Affairs where he demonstrated leadership and strategic vision in the formulation and implementation of Government Policy and was responsible for the co-ordination of strategic policy across schools, TAFE and higher education.

Mr Grimshaw has an extensive knowledge of health issues and has had a long association with Health on the Mid North Coast, being a member of the former Mid North Coast Area Health Service Board (2002-2004) and a member of the North Coast Area Health Service’s Advisory Council (2004-2010).

He was appointed Chair of the Mid North Coast Local Health District Board on 1 January 2011.

Mr Grimshaw is also Chair of Chair of the North Coast Institute of TAFE Advisory Council Chair of the Coffs Harbour Technology Park Board and Member of the Governing Council for TAFE Higher Education. Mr Grimshaw was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in June 1994. He is Honorary Fellow of Southern Cross University.

Dr Sharon Sykes

Sharon SYkes

Dr Sharon Sykes, MBBS, BAppSci, FRACGP, graduated from the University of Queensland in 2000. Before studying medicine she had a successful career in medical science with special interest in haematology and microbiology. She completed her Fellowship with the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners in 2010. She is a clinical General Practitioner in Port Macquarie, where she has resided since 2007. She has special interests in clinical governance and medical education.

Sharon spent 19 years in the Royal Australian Airforce in various roles and has participated in both UN Peacekeeping and Disaster Relief duties. She has been on the board of various not-for-profit organisations and is actively involved in Medical Education. She believes strongly in the provision of primary health care to all regardless of their socioeconomic situation.

Mr Phillip Silver

Philip Silver

Phillip Silver has been a Certified Practicing Accountant for 35 years. He also served in local government for the last 20 years, involving high-level community consultation and policy development, governance and meeting standards, finance and budgeting. Phillip has 17 years public and private sector financial experience at a senior level including NSW Treasury.

Phillip has served on the Ballina Shire Council, including 10 years as Mayor, Rous Water Shire Council, Northern Rivers Organisation of Councils (NOROC) and NSW Country Mayors Association. Phillip was also a Director of the Paraplegic & Quadriplegic Association (ParaQuad) for over a decade. In 2014, Phillip was awarded the Order of Australia Medal.

Dr Christopher Jambor

Chris Jambor

Dr Christopher Jambor is a medical practitioner with over thirty years experience. He is a General Practitioner in Ballina and a Visiting Medical Officer at Ballina District Hospital.

Previously the Chair of North Coast GP Training, Christopher has also served in many executive roles within the Local Health District, including Grafton and Lismore Base Hospitals. He has been a Board Member and the CEO of the Mid North Coast Division of General Practice.

His ambition is to strengthen the links and break down the barriers to seamless, synergistic and unduplicated health care delivery between the hospital and primary health care settings.