Who can lodge a submission?

NCPHN welcomes submissions from:

  • GPs and general practices
  • Allied health professionals/organisations
  • Local Health Districts
  • Community health professionals/organisations
  • Aged care health professionals/organisations
  • Mental health professionals/organisations
  • Aboriginal health workers /Aboriginal Medical Services
  • Non Governmental Organisations (NGOs)
  • Police and Ambulance services
  • Universities and TAFE
  • Northern Rivers Alliance
  • Parliamentarians
  • Community support groups.
  • Government organisations
What are the 2017 Excellence Awards Categories?

Category 1 - Integration and Partnership

Category 2 - Innovation

Category 3 – Improving Health Care Access and/or Reducing Health Inequity

Category 4 - Promoting Healthy Living

(Projects or programs can only be submitted in one category)

Download the categories and criteria.

I entered the Excellence Awards last year. Can I enter my submission again?

NCPHN encourages repeat submissions and offers assistance to those looking to improve on previous scores.

Will I get comment from the judges?

Yes, comments on how to improve your entry in the future will be sent to you after the applications are reviewed.

What is the closing date for submissions?

Submissions must be lodged by 5pm Friday 16 June 2017.

How does judging take place?

A judging panel of experts from the sector will assess the nominations according to the criteria and select two finalists in each award category as well as one Community Choice Award finalist from each category. Chance plays no part in determining finalists and award recipients, who will be selected on merit. Each criteria counts for 10 points in judging, with a total of 100 points.

Determining appropriateness according to the criteria is at the discretion of the judges, whose decision is final.

When will finalists be notified?

Finalists will be notified from 11 July, 2017.


Two finalists in each category as well as four Community Choice Award finalists will be notified by the Senior Project Officer – Knowledge & Innovation (or nominee) and invited to the Primary Health Care Excellence Awards 2017, which will be held on the evening of Thursday 7 September at Coffs Harbour. Prior to that date, finalists will be asked to make themselves available for the filming of a short video showcasing their project, to be shown on the night. Filming will take place between 17 July, 2017 and 18 August, 2017 and finalists must make themselves available.

What is the total word count?

Your submission form must not exceed 2500 words.

Lodging your submission

When your submission is complete, please submit it via email to excellence@ncphn.org.au

Subject title should be:  Primary Health Care Excellence Awards 2017 Submission

Attach to your email:

  •         Submission Form (keep in Word format)
  •         Relevant attachments (maximum 4, named “Attachment 1, Attachment 2, etc; maximum 5MB in total); in .pdf, .doc, .docx, .xls, .xlxs,.jpg, .jpeg, or .png format
What are the benefits of being an award recipient?

In addition to recognition during the 2017 Primary Health Care Excellence Awards, NCPHN

issues a press release to a large number of media outlets announcing award recipients. Finalists will

also be showcased in a special edition of HealthSpeak magazine and will receive a copy of their

video for promotion as they see fit.

The Excellence Awards are a wonderful way to receive thanks for the work you do. They are, however, just one part of the excellence puzzle. The true benefits lie in the opportunity to explore your work in greater detail and learn from your findings. Quality improvement sits at the heart of excellence and the Excellence Awards gives you the tools for continued quality improvement.

Where will the 2017 Excellence Awards be held?

The 2017 Excellence Awards Gala Dinner will be held on Thursday 7 September at Opal Cove, Coffs

Harbour. Venue details can be found here

Can I attend the Excellence Awards?

The Excellence Awards is an invite-only event. If, however, you would like to attend the awards, please get in touch with your reasons at excellence@ncphn.org.au.   

Why are the Excellence Awards important?

The Primary Health Care Excellence Awards gives us the chance to highlight the wonderful work being performed in the North Coast primary health sector. It brings organisations across the NCPHN footprint together to celebrate one goal - to build strong governance and strive for excellence.

What is North Coast Primary Health Network?

In July 2015, the Australian Government introduced Primary Health Networks (PHNs) across Australia with the key objectives of increasing the efficiency and effectiveness of health services.


Working directly with general practitioners, other primary health care providers, secondary care providers and hospitals, NCPHN ensures improved health outcomes for patients by improving coordination of care and focusing on the people in our community at risk of poor health outcomes.

Click here to visit the NCPHN website.