The Awards

The Primary Health Care Excellence Awards honour the individuals and teams working to bring better health to our region. They celebrate the incredible work carried out in the North Coast and inspire us to look for fresh ideas and advancement. The Awards also offer the chance to have some fun, which is what good health is about!

Judges for the Primary Health Care Excellence Awards are made up of GPs, researchers, community members, allied health, social workers, teachers, primary health network, local health districts and Aboriginal health workers.

Judging panels assess the nominations according to the criteria in each award category. Categories for 2017 were:

Category 1 - Integration and Partnership

This category is for services who work together for better health and wellbeing in North Coast communities.

Working together allows us to better respond to the needs of the community. Good partnerships improve people’s care and health outcomes. They also help the health system cope with increasing demand. Submissions can be made on behalf of several partners.

Category 2 - Innovation

This category is for teams and services working in new or creative ways for better health and wellbeing in our community.

Delivering high quality, linked-up and person-centred health care requires fresh approaches. Innovation requires being open to and testing new ideas. Submissions can be from individual teams or on behalf of partnerships.

Category 3 - Improving Health Care Access and/or Reducing Health Inequity

This category is for programs targeting social and economic disadvantage or health inequities.

The North Coast has a fast growing and ageing population. We also have high disadvantage and high Aboriginal representation. Effective health care responds to the needs of the community for greater access and better health and wellbeing. Change and improvement usually takes time and the involvement of many stakeholders.

Some projects may not yet be able to show improved health outcomes. In this case, evidence of a plan, data collection and analysis of the issues will be enough for submission of a project.

Category 4 - Promoting Healthy Living

This category is for projects that encourage people to take ownership of their health and wellbeing.

Promoting good health and the prevention of disease is vital for primary health care. Projects that target health literacy, healthy lifestyles, reduce hospital admissions and reduce chronic disease fit in this category.

(Projects or programs can only be submitted in one category)

Judges selected two finalists from each category and one community finalist from each category.

Community Choice Award

As part of the judging process, judges will nominate one project from each category they believe has had significant impact on the North Coast community. These Community Finalists will then proceed to an online voting campaign in the hope of being crowned the 2017 Community Choice Award winner.

The Community Choice Award recognises a project or program that has engaged deeply with the community, and understands its characteristics and needs. The program should be aligned with the community’s principles and values, and the staff driving the program seen to act with sensitivity, respect and insight. The project is embraced by the community, and ultimately, empowers the community to take ownership of their own health and wellbeing.

People’s Choice Award

All 2017 finalists will participate in our People’s Choice Award. Voting will commence once all videos have been shown at the Award Ceremony by those present on the evening. The People’s Choice winner will this year receive two registration tickets to the conference of their choice.


In total, the Awards night celebrated 14 Finalists.